Friday Five

Happy Friday! We’ve had rainy weather all week, but today the clouds finally cleared and the weather is perfect! It’s Mother’s Day weekend, which means it’s unofficial planting week for the state of Colorado. Local tradition dictates that you can’t start planting your garden until Mother’s Day, because snow frequently falls through May. Earlier this week, we had hail the size of golf balls! Adam and I bucked this sage advice last year by planting the final weekend in April, and we paid dearly for it in the form of $100 of plants ruined by snow and frost just a few days later.

This year, we’re heeding tradition and saving the gardening for tomorrow. Last year was our first year to have a serious garden, and we’ve got even bigger plans this time around. On the planting list: golden raspberries, lavender, okra, tomatoes, kale, collards, hot peppers, tomatillos, Swiss chard, and summer squash, plus pots of basil, chives, mint, and parsley. We might throw some flowers into the mix, but it’s hard to convince me to give up vegetable real estate to something you can’t eat 🙂

I hope you’re enjoying a wonderful weekend! Here are five of my favorite things this week!

13469453

1.) Favorite Fashion – Diff Dime II 48mm Retro Sunglasses in Motley/Blue. The temperature is supposed to reach 80 tomorrow – summer is (finally) coming! I ordered these sunnies from Nordstrom last week and absolutely love them. They’re very high quality for the price and come in lots of fun colors/patterns. Plus, Diff partners with Eyes on Africa to donate reading glasses to those in need. Win-win!

delicious-peanut-butter-overnight-oats-5-ingredients-5-minutes-prep-so-amazing-healthy-vegan-glutenfree-breakfast-oats-recipe

2.) Favorite Breakfast – Peanut Butter Overnight Oats from Minimalist Baker. This make-ahead meal is a lifesaver in our house. Without it, I don’t think I’d ever eat breakfast, which really isn’t an option for me, since I tend to wake up starving. I cut back on the PB and maple syrup to save some calories, and add toasted coconut and granola in the morning for some crunch. It’s delicious – and that’s coming from a girl who doesn’t like oatmeal!

joanna-goddard-fire-island

3.) Favorite Read – 5 Ways to Teach Kids About Consent from A Cup of Jo. All I want in life is for my baby boy to grow up happy, healthy, and respectful of others. This article is eye-opening about simple, non-awkward ways to help kids learn to respect their own bodies, and others’ as well. “You’re the boss” is my favorite.

33568244975_5e141bf915_b

4.) Favorite “Pie” – Samoas No Bake Cheesecake Tart from Smells Like Home. I lost our annual March Madness bracket challenge to my husband, and as payment, I owe him a freshly baked pie. Now, I know this is technically a tart and not a pie, but come on! The shortbread! The caramel! The chocolate! I don’t think I’ll have any problem getting my husband to overlook the technicalities. That’s the kind of bet I don’t mind losing.

71g2buv-hptl-_sl1500_

5.) Favorite Upgrade – Le Creuset Signature Saucepan in Marine. I still have the saucepans I received as a college graduation gift seven (sob!) years ago, and while they still get the job done, I’m itching to replace them with this gorgeous, easy to clean, do anything Le Creuset version. Maybe as a Mother’s Day present to myself?

 

Leave a Reply

